In October, Walker and I will be escaping Shanghai to go to Mexico. We will enjoy the lovely beaches, see our families, and get married. With that brings many personal expectations for ourselves. His goal is to gain weight, while mine is to lose. I wish I could just give him the ten extra pounds that I’d like to take off, but unfortunately, it doesn’t work that way.

In the mean time, I’m trying to eat more healthily while I continue to provide Walker with enough food to meet his own expectations. Though I think he’s pretty cute just the way he is.

Mixed Citrus Salad with Feta, Onion and Mint
From Deb at Smitten Kitchen

Ingredients

3 to 4 tablespoons red onion, cut into tiny bits
4 pieces of citrus, preferably a mix – I used one grapefruit, and two different types of oranges
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar or lemon juice
1 teaspoon spicy brown mustard, smooth
1 tablespoon olive oil
Salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste
3 to 4 tablespoons (1.5 ounces) feta cheese, chopped or crumbled
1 tablespoon fresh mint, chopped or cut into tiny slivers

Preparation

1. Place your red onion in the bottom of a medium bowl. Nest a strainer over the bowl.

2. Prepare your citrus fruits by removing the stem end of one, cutting enough off that you reveal the pith-free flesh of the fruit. Repeat on the other end. Rest your fruit on one of its now-flat ends and cut the peel and pith off in large, vertical pieces. Remove any white from the outside of the fruit. Turn the fruit on its side, and slice them into 1/4 inch thick disks, and placing the disks into the strainer. The juices will drip onto the onions below, lessening the kick of a raw onion.

3. Spread the fruit slices out on a platter. Scoop out the onion and sprinkle them over the fruit, leaving the juice in the bowl. Whisk the remaining juice with red wine vinegar or lemon juice, mustard and olive oil. Season with salt and freshly cracked black pepper. Drizzle the dressing over the citrus, sprinkle with feta and mint, adjust salt and pepper to taste, serve immediately.

Brown Rice and Almond Tabbouleh
From Stone Soup

Ingredients

2 cups cooked brown rice (approx 250g / 9oz)
I bunch mint, leaves picked
1 bunch flat leaf parsley
1/2  small red onion, finely chopped
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
1 cup whole almonds, I did not toast them, because I prefer the lighter flavor here
pita bread, to serve, optional
Greek yoghurt, to serve, optional

Preparation

1. If using precooked rice, place in a bowl and pour over boiling water. Allow to stand for about 30 seconds then drain and rinse well with cold water to cool.

2. Chop off and discard about half of the parsley stalks. Then finely chop the remaining bunch with the rest of the stalks and leaves. Chop mint. In a large salad bowl stir herbs and onion through drained rice.

3. Combine lemon juice and oil and season well. Dress salad and toss though nuts.

4. I served in miniature pitas, and let Walker slather his with Greek yogurt. I have to fit into a dress in the near future, and so I am abstaining from cream when I can.

All in all it was a really healthful dinner with a lot of flavor. I am having a lot of trouble finding recipes to help Walker gain weight while I can eat healthily enough to lose a little. Though Jack Sprat and his wife did quite well, I’m not sure that I need to be licking my platter clean any time soon.

This meal let us customize between us. Walker ate 6 miniature pitas, all with cream, while I had three pitas, with a little tabbouleh on the side. What I’m finding is portion size will be key for us in the near future, and I shouldn’t be portioning out our dinners equally.

With any luck, we will both meet our weight goals before October!

