Ever read a recipe for scrambled eggs? Yeah, I hadn’t either. But you don’t want to miss this one.

Since I started making my own ricotta, I have been trying to find ways to fit in my love for the fresh cheese everywhere. In muffins, on pizzas, in salads. Then as I was absent-mindedly flipping through what is quickly becoming my favorite cookbook, Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone, by Deborah Madison, I kept running across a recipe for scrambled ricotta, to stand in for scrambled eggs for vegans (it was a special kind of ricotta, made from tofu if I remember correctly). Though it wasn’t actually dairy, she made a note at the end saying that real ricotta cheese would scramble up nicely too if the eater didn’t object to all animal products.

And really, has she met me?

Okay so no, she hasn’t. But while I could comfortably give up meat (it seems, though I’ve never tried it for any length of time), I could never ever give up cheese and eggs. And yogurt. And honey.

Basically I can’t imagine cutting out any food that vegans cut out beyond basic vegetarianism. I need them. I crave them. And I don’t really feel bad for the bees in the honey making process, even if I should. (Please no emails from angry vegans. Empathy for things I’m afraid of has never been my strong suit.)

So scrambled ricotta, huh? Interesting. Very Interesting. But I worried that it would stick to the pan or something, so I hadn’t tried it. Until I found this recipe, which combines some of my favorite things – eggs, and two types of cheese.


Is that creamed corn thing scaring you? Don’t let it. Give this a try, and you’ll find a new use for the creamed corn you mistakenly picked at the grocery store a year ago. It’s staring at you from back there in the pantry. It’s feeling left out. Come on, give it a shot. You won’t regret it.


Scrambled Eggs with Creamed Corn Ricotta and Parmesan
Adapted from The Stone Soup
serves 2 very hungry weekend breakfasters

Ingredients

2 tablespoons butter
5 eggs, lightly whisked with a fork
4 tablespoons canned creamed corn
large handful parmesan cheese, grated
4 tablespoons ricotta
chopped chives for garnish

Preparation

1. Melt butter in a small saucepan over a medium heat.

2. Add eggs, corn and parmesan and cook stirring almost constantly until the eggs are clumpy and still a bit fluid or until cooked to your liking.

3. Stir through ricotta and serve with toast and a green salad.

Tried it yet? Told you you wouldn’t regret that creamed corn!

Ever read a recipe for scrambled eggs? Yeah, I hadn’t either. But you don’t want to miss this one.

Since I started making my own ricotta (LINK TO RICOTTA RECIPE), I have been trying to find ways to fit in my love for the fresh cheese everywhere. In muffins, on pizzas, in salads. Then as I was absent-mindedly flipping through what is quickly becoming my favorite cookbook, Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone, by Deborah Madison, I kept running across a recipe for scrambled ricotta, to stand in for scrambled eggs for vegans (it was a special kind of ricotta, made from tofu if I remember correctly). Though it wasn’t actually dairy, she made a note at the end saying that real ricotta cheese would scramble up nicely too if the eater didn’t object to all animal products.

And really, has she met me?

Okay so no, she hasn’t. But while I could comfortably give up meat (it seems, though I’ve never tried it for any length of time), I could never ever give up cheese and eggs. And yogurt. And honey.

Basically I can’t imagine cutting out any food that vegans cut out beyond basic vegetarianism. I need them. I crave them. And I don’t really feel bad for the bees in the honey making process, even if I should. (Please no emails from angry vegans. Empathy for things I’m afraid of has never been my strong suit.)

So scrambled ricotta, huh? Interesting. Very Interesting. But I worried that it would stick to the pan or something, so I hadn’t tried it. Until I found this recipe, which combines some of my favorite things – eggs, and two types of cheese.

Is that creamed corn thing scaring you? Don’t let it. Give this a try, and you’ll find a new use for the creamed corn you mistakenly picked at the grocery store a year ago. It’s staring at you from back there in the pantry. It’s feeling left out. Come on, give it a shot. You won’t regret it.

Scrambled Eggs with Creamed Corn Ricotta and Parmesan
Adapted from The Stone Soup
serves 2 very hungry weekend breakfasters

Ingredients

2 tablespoons butter
5 eggs, lightly whisked with a fork
4 tablespoons canned creamed corn
large handful parmesan cheese, grated
4 tablespoons ricotta
chopped chives for garnish

Preparation

1. Melt butter in a small saucepan over a medium heat.

2. Add eggs, corn and parmesan and cook stirring almost constantly until the eggs are clumpy and still a bit fluid or until cooked to your liking.

3. Stir through ricotta and serve with toast and a green salad.

Tried it yet? Told you you wouldn’t regret that creamed corn!Since I started making my own ricotta (LINK TO RICOTTA RECIPE)

