I took this recipe for a crab quiche, and RAN with it. RAN. What I made looks nothing like this recipe. I remembered how much I loved a remoulade sauce I made to go with crab cakes last year and it occurred to me – crab quiche is just a backwards crab cake. OF COURSE these flavors will rock together. So I pulled up my favorite cajun remoulade sauce recipe and started experimenting.

So without further ado, I give you Crustless Cajun Crab Mini-Quiches! Here’s what I did:

Ingredients

Garnished with left over strips of red pepper, parsley and two whole shallots

  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup cream
  • 1 cup crab meat (canned)
  • 1 cup shredded Ementhaler cheese
  • 2 shallots, chopped up
  • 1/2 of a small red pepper, diced really finely
  • 1 stalk of celery, diced finely
  • 4 green onions (including all the green), cut with scissors
  • 1/4 cup of fresh parsley leaves, cut up with scissors
  • 1 tbsp of whole grain dijon mustard
  • 2 tsp of smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp Old Bay seasoning

Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. In a medium bowl, beat together eggs, mayonnaise, mustard, spices, cream and milk until thoroughly blended. Stir in crab, cheese, and veggies.
  3. Spoon into a mini-muffin tin and bake for 30 to 40 minutes, or until top is bubbly and they’re fragrant.
  4. Run a knife around the edge to release (I was using a silicone muffin pan, but I also ran a knife around for safe measure), and let cool.
  5. Put them on a plate, and shove directly into freezer. Once frozen, put in a plastic baggie to store until Christmas.
  6. To reheat, pop back in the oven after defrosting, and we’re set.

And really let’s be honest – they’re crustless because I’m lazy, and didnt want to make dozens of miniature crusts. It was all I could do to keep from shoving all of them in my mouth as soon as they came out of the oven. Easy, quick, and oh my god they smell fantastic.

This recipe made 24 mini-quiches. And by the way ya’ll, pay absolutely no attention to my cooking timings. My oven is broken, and so I have to set it on 150 degrees Celcius or everything burns, and then just do it by eye and nose. But I highly highly recommend this true amalgamation of flavors. I sneaked one before Christmas, and wow. Just wow.

If you’re doing these to make ahead, I would cutting back on the dijon mustard a little because the flavors could get a little overwhelming. Then just pop them back into the oven until they’re warm, and they’re delicious!

Critics Corner
Walker, a fussy eater because his mom and sister are so wonderful in the kitchen,  says “The crab surprises you a little bit, but in a good way. Maybe it’s because I’m not used to having crab quiche. It was a really great addition to brunch, because it’s not an expected brunch flavor combination. It’s just good.”

I think that means we will be making them again at our house! The best part about this recipe for me is that crab is available here in tins of water, and canned crab was wonderful here. I think it would have been a waste of money to buy fresh crab meat. Instead spend the money of fresh produce and a mustard that you would want to eat on a sandwich.

