Asparagus soup with a crusty piece of bread

In the winter, I just want to have soup for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and I found a bunch of beautiful asparagus at our local market.

I looked and looked for an asparagus soup that wouldn’t add too much cream to dilute the color of the asparagus, but most of the recipes I found wanted at least a cup of full cream. So I used an Emeril recipe for asparagus soup as a starting point (only half a cup), but doctored it up a bit. I usually don’t like his recipes much, and this one looked a little bland, but I decided to give it a shot anyway.

As it stood, it required the following ingredients:

  • 3 pounds fresh asparagus, rinsed
  • 8 cups chicken stock (I substituted vegetable, because it is what I had on hand)
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 cup minced shallots
  • 1 cup minced leeks, whites only, well rinsed
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground white pepper
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup finely grated Parmesan, garnish

As it turned out it was bland so I stirred in some crumbled feta cheese and a squeeze of lemon. I garnished with some chives and chopped shallots on top. While not the best asparagus soup I’ve ever had, it was decidedly better than the original recipe. I will keep looking for a better one and keep you posted!

