I was feeling over ambitious. So I decided to try out a new recipe for breakfast, and it was going to take a whole lot of time. They’re pumpkin scones. It’s evidently an Australian traditional tea time food, and my coworker, a Spanish woman married to an Aussi, gave me her recipe for them. You have to roast the pumpkin and then let it cool before you assemble the dough, but they’re worth the wait.

Pumpkin scones served will a little sour cream

Ingredients

1 orange pumpkin the size of a standard cantaloupe, chopped in half from side to side, seeds scooped out and reserved for other recipes
tbsp butter
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
squeeze of honey
1/4 cup cream
1/4 tsp salt
1 egg
4 cups flour, or as much flour as necessary to make the dough tolerable.
sour cream to serve

Preparation

1. Reassemble your de-seeded pumpkin and roast in your oven at 400 degrees for 2-3 hours. Scoop out the soft meat and mash, like potatoes. Set aside and let cool for a few hours, or overnight.

2. Beat together the butter and white sugar. Add in brown sugar, cream, and egg, then the mashed pumpkin and your squeeze of honey.

3. Adding one cup at a time, add in flour. Once each cup of flour is incorporated, touch the dough to see if you want to deal with it at that point. I added about 4 cups.

4. Refrigerate dough to let it set up a bit, and then turn the dough out onto a floured board, and shape it into baguette shapes. Cut the dough into scone shapes, and place on wax paper.**

5. Bake on the top shelp of a hot oven (her recipe says 225-250 degrees celcius, but again, broken oven, so mine is always at 150 for the same amount of time and they turned out fine.) for 15-20 minutes.

* At this point, you can put the wax paper in the freezer, and let the scones set. Then put them in an air tight bag, for baking individual servings of scones.

*I dusted the tops of half with a little sugar – just press into the top. Or I suppose you could make an egg wash and dust the tops. The other half of the scones I left plain. This morning we had the ones with sugar.

This recipe made about 18 scones. We each had three this morning, so we’re down to 12, which are happily in the freezer, ready to be pulled out and made at a moment’s notice! Serve with a dollop of sour cream. The tanginess really brings out the sweet flavor of the pumpkin.

Critic’s Comments

“Great! They’re kind of like biscuits except they have a really even consistency.”
“The pumpkin is very subtle. It’s definitely something you want to have warm. You don’t want to wait until its cold.”
“I think you could have thrown in another flavor in there. Like cinnamon maybe, I don’t know, but I think you could have added another flavor in there.”

Pumpkin scones

He’s really running out of nice things to say about my cooking. My own opinion was that my coworker’s version was too gooey. Mine turned out well, but I think next time I would double the recipe for all the trouble it was. Getting the dough to be the correct consistency was guess work, because the recipe I had was fraught with substitutions. For example, she didn’t use any sugar, just cream. And she and I both more than doubled the original amount of pumpkin from 1 cup to a whole pumpkin’s worth.

They’re wonderful though. Melt in your mouth. Beautiful served hot with sour cream. They’re definitely a fabulous mix of sweet and savory, like Walker says, best enjoyed warm. But what a wonderful winter flavor for the holidays! By the way, I think adding cinnamon would be a huge mistake. Let the pumpkin stand on its own the first time you make it to see what I mean. I think Walker is just used to having something really sweet for breakfast.

Spoiled rotten.

