Yesterday, I got on my old rickety bicycle with a canvas shopping bag  and a camera and cycled to the open air market. I knew I wanted to make this recipe for Sweet Potato, Apple, and Chipotle Soup. I saw it published in the magazine last January or so on a trip to Mexico, and knowing that I couldn’t find Chipotles in Beijing, I brought back four tins of them in my suitcase.

This recipe has since become a favorite at our house, and those chipotles get used really frequently, though never in big amounts. Unfortunately, the chipotles come packaged with ten chipotles in each tin, and I could never use them up that fast. After I open a tin, I do what Rachel Ray suggests and freeze them until the next time I need them.

Market Finds

Yesterday at the market, I picked up what I needed for the soup, but I also got distracted by some other interesting finds. There were turnips, watermelon radishes, purple potatoes and beautiful pecans and they absolutely had to come home with me. They practically jumped into my bag all by themselves. The pecans are going to become a pecan pie which I’ll share tomorrow, and I’m still deciding what I’ll do with these other gems. I’ll keep you posted.

Sweet Potato, Apple, and Chipotle Soup

Ingredients
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1/2 medium white onion, finely chopped
4 garlic cloves, smashed
1 tablespoon finely grated fresh ginger
2 Gala apples—peeled, seeded and coarsely chopped
2 celery ribs, thinly sliced crosswise
2 pounds sweet potatoes, peeled and thinly sliced
1 quart low sodium chicken or vegetable broth
3 cups water
1 1/2 small canned chipotles in adobo sauce, seeded and minced (the original recipe calls for one, but I like it with a little more heat)
Salt and freshly ground white pepper

Preparation

1. In a medium soup pot, heat 2 tablespoons of the oil until shimmering. Add the onion, garlic and ginger and cook over low heat, stirring, until softened, about 7 minutes. Add the apples and celery and cook for 5 minutes. Add the sweet potatoes and cook for 5 minutes. Add the chicken stock and water and bring to a boil. Cover partially and simmer over low heat until the fruit and vegetables are very tender, about 45 minutes. Stir in the chipotle.

2. Working in batches, puree the soup in a blender until smooth. Season with salt and white pepper and return to the pot.

Sweet potato, apple, and chipotle soup garnished with a few sweet apple slices

Critic’s Comments

“”

Because this recipe makes so much and there are only two of us, we freeze the rest in individual portions. There is no cream so reheating is easier!

