Walker and I went off to Hang Zhou two weekends ago (three weekends ago now, due to my lazy posting habits) to celebrate our engagement. But as sweet as Walker was, he didn’t remember to plan a place for our puppy to stay for the weekend!


Luckily we were able to con a friend in to salvage the situation. I bribed this New Yorker expat with promises of pie, and I had had every intention of giving it to him for that very weekend while he dog sat. But at the very last minute, Walker and I both got violently sick, and I figured I shouldn’t be preparing anyone’s food right then, much less passing on our bug to an unsuspecting friend doing us a favor.

Instead I put it off until we got back, which got extended again when I started my new job and realized I had no time at all.

But I finally made time last weekend, because it was starting to just be shameful. And you know what? I’m glad I did. I love cooking for people who enjoy it, and he certainly seemed to.


Apple Pie
from Joy of Cooking, the first cookbook of my mother’s that caught my interest when I started cooking at home

Ingredients

one nine inch double crust pie
2 1/2 pounds apples
3/4 cup sugar
2-3 tablespoons all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
2 teaspoons sugar
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Preparation

1. Line a 9 inch pie pa with half the dough. Position oven rack in the lower third of the oven. Preheat the oven to 425F.

2. Peel, core, and slice the apples to about 1/4 inch thick. Combine in a bowl with sugar, flour, 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and salt. Let stand for 15 miutes, stirring several times util the apples soften slightly.

3. Pour the filling into the bottom and gently level with the back of a spoon. Dot the top with pats of the butter. Cover the pie with the upper crust, and the sprinkle with two teaspoons sugar, and a 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon.

4. Bake for 30 minutes. Slip a baking sheet under the pie, reduce the oven temperature to 350F, ad bake until the fruit feels just tender when a knife is poked through a steam vent and juices have begun to bubble through the vents, about 30-40 minutes more. Cool completely on a rack for 3-4 hours . If you wish to serve the pie warm, place in a 350F oven for about 15 minutes.


The pie is best the day it is baked, but it can be kept at room temperature for up to three days.

My friend shared it with his roommate and it never had the opportunity to sit on the counter for those three days.

