Sometimes when I’m looking at my Google Reader, something I indulge in in the mornings before work, only something out of the ordinary catches my eye.

The other morning, I had seen an entry and passed by it, and for the life of me I can’t put my finger on why. Beet hummus. The name didn’t really make me want to dive right in, or I suppose I wasn’t feeling particularly adventurous, but for some reason, it passed right under the radar.

It wasn’t until last week, when a friend emailed me the recipe and suggested we make it together that I rethought beet hummus. Is it worth a try? Surely if my friend wants to make it, I want to help her! I happened to have two big beautiful beet sitting on my kitchen counter, and neither beet was destined for anything in particular. It was the perfect situation.

And in what seems to be becoming a common practice, she came over for a night of cooking the things that had caught our eye over the past week. And boy am I glad she reminded me of this bright pink dip. It wasn’t what I expected but it was savory and smooth and spicy with the beet’s sweetness in the background.

Really though, have you ever seen anything this pink on a pita? For the amazing visual alone it would be worth a try, and giving this pink hummus a shot really worked out.


Beet Hummus

from Simply Recipes
Makes 2 cups

Ingredients

1/2 pound beets (about 4 medium sized beets), scrubbed clean, roasted, peeled, and cubed*
2 Tbsp tahini sesame seed paste
5 Tbsp lemon juice
1 small clove garlic, chopped
1 Tbsp ground cumin
1 Tbsp lemon zest (zest from approx. 2 lemons)
Generous pinch of sea salt or Kosher salt
Fresh ground pepper to taste

*To cook the beets, cut off any tops, scrub the roots clean. Roast them in an oven until tender. (You can also put them in a covered dish with about 1/4-inch of water in a 375°F oven, and cook until easily penetrated with a knife or fork. OR cover with water in a saucepan and simmer until tender, about 1/2 hour) Peel once they have cooled.

Preparation

1. Place all ingredients in a food processor (or blender) and pulse until smooth. Taste and adjust seasonings and ingredients as desired.

2. Chill and store in the refrigerator for up to 3 days or freeze for longer storage.

3. Eat with pita chips, or with sliced cucumber or celery, or on a crostini with goat cheese and shaved mint.

