Do you ever try to cook things with flavors you’re curious about? That’s me here. I read this recipe at The A&M Blog and thought, “huh, that sounds really weird.” And for the rest of the day, I couldn’t think about cooking anything else for dinner.

I had two already roasted corn cobs in the fridge left over from weekend food prep, and half a bag of frozen corn in the freezer. Everything else was just basic pantry stuff for us, something we always have on hand (you know, except buttermilk, which I never have, and can always substitute around with a little vinegar added to whole milk). How can you say no to a recipe that promises to be relatively quick and does not involve a trip to the grocery store for the odds and ends?

So I didn’t. As I was cooking it up, I was still skeptical. Really? Curry and mint and corn? Really? And to be honest, the aroma didn’t immediately win me over, even after the soup was blended. But when I added the buttermilk and fresh mint, this soup really sprang to life in the most unexpected way. It was both fresh and wintery at the same time. Perfect for a cold evening, but with a hint of spring to come.

I didn’t expect to love this soup, but I do. This combination of flavors is so different from anything else I’d tried in a soup that I anticipate this one will be making quite a few reappearances.

Buttermilk Corn Soup with Curry and Mint
via The A&M Blog
Serves 3 as a dinner(yes its an awkward number, but hey, you could get four if you don’t eat the huge soup servings we prefer in this house), 6 as a starter

Ingredients

2 tablespoons butter
1 shallot, chopped
2 cups yellow corn kernels
2 cups vegetable stock
1 1/2 cup buttermilk (if you dont have it, use a teaspoon or so of vinegar with plain milk)
1 teaspoon dried mint
1 teaspoon fresh mint, chopped
1/2 teaspoon hot curry
1/2 teaspoon coriander
1/2 teaspoon cumin
Salt & pepper to taste
Creme fraiche

Preparation

1. In a heavy saucepan sauté shallot in butter until translucent (approximately 5-7 minutes. Add corn and mix to coat corn with shallots and butter. Add vegetable stock and simmer for about 20 minutes. Add dried mint, curry, coriander and cumin. Let simmer to allow flavors to marry.

2. Carefully blend in a blender. An immersion blender will not get this soup very smooth, if you choose to use one, you might want to strain the soup as well to get a better consistency.

3. Add buttermilk, fresh mint and salt & pepper to taste. Cook down for about 30 minutes on low heat.

4. Garnish with a dollop of crème fraiche and serve.

