Have you ever wondered what would have happened if exotic french toast had a love child with plain old oatmeal? In my head, the scene would go something like this:

“Um… hey… you wanna?” says the Plain Jane of breakfast foods.
“Bien sur!” replies the French Lothario, which has been long been wooing children at breakfast tables, luring them away from whole grain hot breakfast cereals.

Okay so I’m no Hollywood screenwriter and I should probably stick to my day job, but when in college I first discovered baked oatmeal at the Refectory underneath the campus’s Divinity School, I was hooked.

My good friend and I would schedule bi-weekly dates, each time going back only for the baked oatmeal. We tried to time it just right, so we got the perfect scoop oatmeal – not too crusty and not completely out of the center of the pan. We had our favorite server, who always knew which part we wanted, and our least favorite, who always tried to give us bowls full of crusty bits.

Well after a lot of experimenting with many different recipes, I’ve finally created one that I think hits very close to that original recipe I love so much.  Where oil would normally be, I’ve used apple sauce, and am so very thrilled with that decision – it tastes better than any recipe that I’ve ever tasted with oil.

To best enjoy this breakfast treat, serve with a little extra cinnamon sugar and pour milk down over the top of it. Fruit is sometimes included inside the oatmeal itself, but I usually just cut up some fresh fruit on the side instead. Either way, this is a delicious breakfast treat that I’m very glad to have finally perfected!

Baked Oatmeal
makes 6 big servings

Ingredients

6 large eggs
3/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce
3 1/4 cups whole milk
1/2 cup honey
5 teaspoons ground cinnamon
4 teaspoons baking powder
6 cups rolled oats
1/3 cup brown sugar, packed
1 additional teaspoon ground cinnamon

Preparation

1. Grease 9 X 13 – inch baking dish or ramekins and set aside.

2. Whisk eggs, apple sauce, milk, and honey together until foamy.

3. Add cinnamon, baking powder and oatmeal, and stir until mixed. At this point you can add in dried fruits or apples if you’d like, but I prefer mine on top, so I skipped it here. Stir in and mix well.

4. Spread the oatmeal evenly across your ramekins or into your pan. Mix the 1/3 cup brown sugar and 1 teaspoon cinnamon together and sprinkle over the top of the oatmeal.

5. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight. Remove from fridge, uncover, and let sit while the oven is preheats to 350 degrees F. Bake for 45-60 minutes, or until puffed and slightly browned around the edges. Bake time will take longer straight out of the refrigerator, but you’re still looking for the same visual clues for doneness.

